Art classes, such as painting or drawing, are as important for children's development as other subjects, so it should be compulsory in high school. Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, art classes have become popular for children’s development. Some people think that art classes such as drawing, painting, or dance should become compulsory subjects at school because of important role for students’ development and education. I believe that this opinion has benefits and drawbacks, which will be discussed in this essay.

On the one hand, art subjects bring many important benefits for children when these are included in education program. Firstly, art helps students develop creative skills and flexible ideas. Clearly, when they join drawing or design classes, they can find out personal ability, their hobbies and develop them and also express uniquely. These are skills which are necessary for children’ development process. Secondly, art activities also help them express emotions and reduce pressures. For example, many students have to endure academic pressure and mental change. If they join art classes, they can relax to improve their mental health and balance emotions. The act of bringing art into education helps students develop intelligence and emotions.

On the other hand, the requirement all students have to join in art subjects also causes some disadvantages. First of all, some students are not passionate or do not have a talent for art and they are interested in science subjects. Students may be under pressure or lack motivation if they are forced. Therefore, their study results are low. More importantly, the education system should be flexible and allow students choose suitable subjects for their abilities. For instance, art can be put into optional subject lists and students should be strongly encouraged to develop art skills.

In conclusion, art classes play an important role in students’ development. This helps them develop soft skills and creative ideas or emotions. However, this also puts pressure because of the requirement for all students. In my opinion, art subjects should be strongly encouraged. Moreover, the education system is also flexible to develop comprehensively students’s abilities and hobbies.