Some countries have introduced laws to limit the working hours that an employer can ask from an employee. Why are these law introduced? Is this a positive or negative trend?

Some parts of the world have legislated the law about limited working hours that a worker can be asked by an employer. I concur that it is implemented to improve work-life balance and enhance the productivity of the workforce during work hours, and I believe that it is a positive trend as it can be a boon for both the work and private lives of employees.

The reasons why some governments have applied a law about limiting work hours are intended to help workers achieve efficacy in their personal lives as well as their jobs. Firstly, it is clear that long hours can negatively impact an individual’s personal life as they cannot allocate enough time to their family. As a result, it can be the main cause of strained relationships or increased family break-up rates, which can have far-reaching consequences on society as a whole. Secondly, it is proven that long working hours can lead to cognitive load, which is associated with decreased productivity and performance that results in economic output and competitiveness on both individual and societal levels.

There exist several causes which make this trend advantageous overall. First of all, if work hours are limited, employees will have more time to spend quality time with their families, which helps to build strong relationships. This can result in feeling fulfillment in life and increase the happiness rates of the country that ensues developments in every field. Secondly, when people work lessen hours, they have disengagement that it gives opportunity to take enough rest, and well-rested workers are able to achieve optimization in their work.

In conclusion, this rule is being used in order to improve work-life balance and increase workforce productivity during working hours. I think this is a good trend because it can benefit employees’ personal and professional lives.