Some countries have introduced laws to limit the working hours that an employer can ask from an employee. Why are these law introduced? Is this a positive or negative trend?

Some nations have presented laws to restrict the hours of work that an employer can require from an employee. This was introduced in order to prevent the exploitation of the workers, and it is a very positive tendency.

Many superiors demand a high performance from their workers in order to accomplish some objectives, which negatively affects the laborers’ mental and physical health. Such high productivity effectively confines laborers to their job and deprives them of any other activity not related to their occupation and personal life. This could lead to internal issues in the family, such as divorces, constant quarrels, and poor relationships between husbands and wives. For example, many people in the UK had been working for 13 hours every day without even seeing their families, which led to the highest amount of separations in families of all time.

The limitation of an employer’s requirements concerning the employees’ productivity has a beneficial effect on them. These laws can greatly help people to have more freedom and time to fully maintain their personal life after the work days. This could also enhance laborers’ mental health by reducing their stress and nervousness, which were caused by a willingness to satisfy all the requirements of their employers. For instance, people in Germany considerably boosted their immunity and started to spend significantly more time with their relatives after the new amendments had been implemented.

In conclusion, the introduction of laws which limit the time that can be demanded from employees positively affects the life of society.