Some countries have introduced laws to limit the working hours that an employer can ask from an employee. Why are these law introduced? Is this a positive or negative trend?

Working hours vary from a country to another and are influenced by numerous factors. Law makers in some nations debate that limiting work hours is for the benefit of the employees, while others note that these measures will have consequences on the economies. This essay will clarify some of the reasons why some governments impose such regulations. additionally, I will include why I believe these will have an positive impact on societies.

There is much more to life than just work. In recent decades, many have become career oriented, devoting unhealthy amount of hours per day to excel at an occupation. While it is necessary to generate a constant income, less emphasis is being put on the quality of life. Therefore, less time is available to explore different aspects of life. For example, I am obliged to spend more than 90 hours a week at the hospital in order to provide a living, living me feeling missing out on life. This is the percussion of not having such rules.

Meanwhile, various governments implemented strict laws to regulate the maximum hours of labor, allowing citizens to peruse hobbies, leisure activities, and have more family time. If no such barriers are put in place, overworked employees will suffer from stress and fatigue, which would reflect on negatively society. For instance, a survey carries out in Sweden notes that parents are satisfied with having sufficient time with their children after enforced laws freeing more of their day.

Overall, I believe that time, which is limited, should be spent wisely to enhance the quality of life, which is after all the main goal. And by protecting the populations from corporate exploitation, the people are allowed to live a richer life.