Some countries have introduced laws to limit the working hours that an employer can ask from an employee. Why are these law introduced? Is this a positive or negative trend?

In recent years, laws were introduced in few nations to limit the office hours for workers. I strongly believe that, these laws incite optimistic growth in employees and nation.

To begin with, the primary reason behind these laws is to protect workers health and well-being. Long working shifts create an impact on person’s mental health, which in turn causes stress and anxiety. So, by restricting the work hours, it encourages staff members to do their work efficiently and energetically by creating a good working environment. Therefore, government decided to take action to ensure workers get enough rest to sustain well.

Another reason is, limited work time can enhance the productivity of the companies. Certain studies implied that excessive shifts can cause an individual to loose their concentration and reduce the productivity. People who work for long time tends to make more mistakes, get bored easily and loose motivation to work.

Overall, I believe that limiting work time promotes health and benefits state of mind of an individual. Though, many may argue long work hours are needed to maintain the productivity, it is not always the case. Companies greed is one of the main reason for long shit timings in any occupation.

In conclusion, government of some countries around the world took good decision in cutting off the work hours to protect health and well-being of workers and to increase productivity. I believe that, effective advancement is being obtained by enforcing and implementing laws to increase productivity and amazing work environment.