Some ex-prisoners commit crimes after being released from prison. What do you think is the cause? How can it be solved?

The tendency of some ex-offenders is commit crimes again after being released from jail. That become a growing concern for governments and societies, due to far-reaching consequences. This essay will provide the cause of the issue and also give some sollutions for the problem.

To begin with, there are many factors that contribute to reoffending. For example, when criminals serve a prison sentence from judge because of crime like murder and robbery. Prisoners in the jail do not connect to our community, so they can not study or learn new knowledge to follow the development and innovation of community. As the result, after being released, they are lack of skill to find the job and companies do not want to hire a person who has crime background. Because of social isolation, commiting the crime as a way of making a living. Other reason is that verdict for lawbreakers is not strong enough, for instance, like minor crimes like shoplifting or pickpocketing, they just receive non-custodial sentence or even community service for some hours. After paying their fine, they can continue to reoffend.

There are some major ways to tackle this issue that is create rehabilitation progammes. This could help the prisoners understand what they do which pose a threat on the society. Additionally, providing education and vocational training to help criminals improve their skill and knowledge and encourage the companies hire them. This could help them reintergrate into community easily. Furthermore, the law can impose stricter punishments on serious crimes like murder, or even expand the incarceration for ex-prioners who commit crimes again.

To sum up, recidivism is a serious problem with unexpected consequences. But, little progress can be achieved by changing the law and providing more opportunities for lawbreaker.