Some experts believe that when a country is already rich, any additional increase in economic wealth does not make its citizens any more satisfied. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many experts contend that when a nation is already affluent, an addition to its economic wealth does not necessarily satisfy its citizens any further. I completely disagree with this notion. Even in first world countries, many groups ranging from lower-class to middle class stand to benefit from an increase in their nation’s wealth.

Despite having sufficient fiscal rescources, many socioeconomic disparities may still persist in a country. A considerable number of people face poverty even in rich nations. The proletarians, in particular, may benefit if the government has enough money to allocate towards them. Even in developed states, the low-income populace often cannot afford education. In spite of being one of the richest states – America, for instance – has a high number of impoverished individuals, large slums, and low literacy rates for marginalized groups. To say such issues cannot be solved with extra funds would be false.

Furthermore, middle-income families can also significantly profit from increased net worth of their country. Although this group enjoys many conveniences in well-off countries, they still find it difficult to afford the same luxuries as the high-income bracket. If the government has more money, they can better the average quality of life by offering quality education, comfortable travel and more such things at a lower price. To use America as an example again, the cost of education in the country is notoriously high, which could be solved if the state had more funds.

In conclusion, well-to-do countries can potentially benefit from additional wealth and further satisfy the needs of their citizens. I completely agree with this statement as there is still room for improvement in life in such nations.