Some parents give their children everything that their children ask for or allow them to do whatever they want to do. Is this good for children? What could be consequences for these children when they grow up?

Nowadays, it is often claimed that permissive parenting is becoming popular and parents allow children to do whatever they want to do. This development can negatively effect on a child’s character, behavior, and future success. Such parenting creates adults who struggle in education, work, and relationships.

One of the main reasons why excessive freedom is negative for children is that they become spoiled and entitled. When guardians satisfy their children, they begin to believing that the deserve everything without making any effort. As a result, they will believe that people around them meet their needs. If it doesn’t happen, they will be upset. For a child who gets everything what they want will be hard meeting with refusal. For example, when spoiled young people become older and go to university, they can tackle with problems, such as completing hard tasks, living without parents, and do all housework alone. Another important factor is that they cannot hold back their emotions. Entitled sons and daughters usually are a single youngster at home and due to this fact, parents give unrestricted freedom and help them in every situation. They have little experience of controlling their emotions because their caregivers solve every small problem. They have never heard the word “no” or practiced controlling their emotions in public places. Therefore, they may overreact to minor difficulties or conflicts.

This type of parenting can have bad consequences in the future, such as avoiding responsibility. In their childhood, guardians did everything and even if they argued with their classmates, parents solved it. However, in adulthood, everything is changing and they will struggle to make decisions or take responsibility for their actions. Instead, they will tend to blame others when things go wrong. For instance, at the workplace, boss give a task and if something goes wrong, they will try to make colleague guilty. Consequently, they will avoid any problem because of fear. In addition, in the future, they will struggle to maintain healthy relationships. Their self-centred behaviour and unreal expectations will make it difficult to build mutual trust and respect. Currently, individuals respect themselves and don’t want to become friends with self-centered people. In this situation parents cannot help, it is only their own problem.

In conclusion, I believe that constantly satisfying children’s every desire is harmful because it prevents them from developing essential skills and often leads to serious difficulties in adulthood.