Some peope believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others would sayit distanced them.

Technological advancements have played a crucial role in how we communicate. While some people agree that these innovations have bridged us together, others disagree; they feel it has put a wedge between friends and families. In this essay, I will focus on both views – first on the proponents’ opinion and then on the contrary opinion. Personally, it is my belief that it has brought ease to how well we can reach out to one another.

First of all, it has removed many known barriers to communication. The ability to hear and to comprehend what people say in spite of distance and language restrictions has made it possible to reach people wherever they may be and irrespective of their tongue or dialect, while improving the speed at which we can exchange either written or spoken words. For instance, in times past, people might have had to write letters to friends and families living abroad and then wait for a considerable length of time to get a response. Now we can do that at the press of a button and get a response in minutes.

Furthermore, many highlight how these advancements have made it possible to speak with people with special needs. Nowadays, people living with disabilities like the inability to speak can have information given to them in visual digital formats in real time, enabling them to attend academic conferences and religious programmes and not feel excluded.

However, it is important to note a significant drawback. Access to social media and other sophisticated modes of communication exposes us to certain dangers. Moreover, they can be quite addictive and as such draw us away from the people we have around us. Take, for example, people now stay on their phones and devices all day, and this in turn prevents them from socializing with people around them. Some even maintain virtual friends but forsake the opportunity to make physical ones.

To sum up, technology has drawn us together in a lot of ways but in that same vein taken us apart. Despite the fact that it has removed various hindrances to connecting with others – like distance, languages, and disabilities – it has also shown to be addictive and affects how we relate with others in our immediate surroundings. In spite of all these, I hold to the opinion that when used appropriately, it brings us together.