Some people argue that it is more important to have an enjoyable job than to earn a lot of money. Others disagree and think that a good salary leads to a better life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People generally have different considerations when they apply for a job. While some people argue that personal interest in a job is predominant in the long-term view, others believe that salary is more significant. This essay will discuss both these points of view and argue in favor of the latter.

On the one hand, feeling pleasure from a job makes a person to persist a job for a long time. In other words, individuals get easily exhausted from work, especially when they are part of a disinterested field. Moreover, to become an expert in one area, ardor and passion to the subject are required. For example, a recent Cambridge study found that 80% of professions with long careers (over ten years) answered that they feel happiness from their jobs. Therefore, enjoyment is obviously significant to maintain a work for the future.

On the other hand, a high salary directly links to a better life. To be specific, everything in life is related to money, not only it decides the quality of life, but it also creates limitations in a person’s life. For instance, an individual who earns a lot of money is available to do or buy whatever they want without considering the cost. Instead of feeling happiness on weekdays, they can be satisfied on weekends. Besides, people need to earn money to afford their life at least. If a person cannot sustain his life from the salary, he would eventually have to quit the job after all. Thus, a high salary is the foremost consideration to apply for a job.

In my opinion, people’s satisfaction in their job is more essential. Their passion brings tenacity into their work which allows them to stand out eventually. Even though they cannot earn a lot of money from the job, their happiness would make them content, the uppermost purpose of one’s life.

In conclusion, some people insist that a high salary should be the priority while others argue that enjoyment in a job outweighs the salary. However, I believe that it is the enjoyment that makes the work more successful in a long-term view.