Some people argue that job satisfaction is more important than a high salary To what extent do you agree or disagree with the given statement?

The idea of job fulfillment being more crucial than receiving a competitive salary is advocated by a group of people. I partially support this viewpoint and my ideas will be elaborated in following paragraphs

On the one hand, the sense of being satisfied with the work people do can be advantageous in terms of giving workers motivation and leading to increased productivity. To begin with, motivation tends to play a major role in every aspect of human life and if given some rewards to employees for the work they have successfully done, this would act as an incentive to do more than it is expected. Another point worth mentioning is that in case of workers being content with their job, the productivity is more likely to increase. The reason why greater performance becomes inevitable is that human beings have always been willing to become deeply involved in their work if they indeed enjoy what they are doing.

On the other hand, I also hold the view that being well-paid means that workers have a great financial independence in every aspect of their lives. As long as people make a great deal of money from their job, some unwanted situations, such as taking out a loan or owing someone money, are less likely to occur, leading to people spending their money as they wish. Moreover, money is the primary necessity of people of all ages so as to cater to their daily needs, including food and clothes. Another reason why money is preferred by employees over job satisfaction is that all people are supposed to gain a considerable amount of money if they want to make a livelihood.

In conclusion, while I agree that it is the job satisfaction that motivates individual and increases efficiency in the workplace, it should be also mentioned that decent salary received by workers exerts a great influence on satisfying accommodating basic human needs and spending money according to their wishes.