some people believe that advertising encourages unnecessary consumption. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, advertising plays an important role in people’s lives. A significant proportion of individuals think that it encourages people to purchase unnecessary things. I partly agree with this opinion, as advertising can influence people’s choices, but it also has some benefits.

On the one hand, one of the primary reasons why many people buy unnecessary items is that famous people recommend these products. People automatically want to buy these things because they trust these people. The second reason is that advertising attracts people with fake discounts. Many people really trust this information. To illustrate, sellers can make unreliable advertisements since many people do not know the real cost and take advantage of this situation and promote this type of advertisement, but it is not really true.

On the other hand, one of the main reasons individuals can save their money is when advertisements have really good discounts, for instance, 50 percent. This offer may be of interest, and if it is true, people can recommend this brand to their friends. In other words, it will improve advertising because sellers pay only for one advertisement, and the second advertisement will be recommended by people who came from this advertisement. If the product is useful, they will recommend it to friends or relatives, and they will bring additional customers.

In conclusion, although advertising can encourage unnecessary spending, it also provides useful information, so people should make careful decisions.