Some people believe that car-free days are effective ways to reduce air pollution. However, others argue that there are other ways that are more effective. Discuss both view and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the issue of air pollution has become a significant concern. Some individuals believe that car-free days are effective ways to decrease air pollution, while others argue that there are additional ways to do so. This essay will discuss both views and present my personal stance, which I support the latter.

It is understandable why people think car-free days are efficient for reducing air pollution. Air pollution involves means of transport causing vehicles on the street to release significantly CO2,which is one of the contributors to air pollution. Which means, the fewer cars we have on the streets, the less air pollution we have. Car-free days encourage people to use public transportation or instead of individual vehicles as well as reduce the amount of gasses from vehicles immediately on that day.

However, car-free days have a short-term impact because they usually last for a short period such as one day or a few hours. That is why some people think there are more efficient ways to cut down the air pollution instead of car-free days. Thinking about long-term impact, the first solution might be using renewable energy for vehicles, such as electric cars. They are not burning fossil fuels and do not release harmful gases into the air. Using the renewable source from solar, wind and even hydro become significantly cleaner that create a cleaner ecosystem for the long-term. This leads to reducing the air pollution every single day consistently. Secondly, the government might be strict to companies and factories burning fossil fuels. While we often associate environmental pollution primarily with traffic, a significant portion also stems from the emissions of large companies. Therefore, governments need to tighten regulations on how these companies treat their emissions before releasing them into the environment. The government encourages the use of renewable energy sources to further mitigate environmental pollution.

In conclusion, implementing a car-free day is one of the ways to reduce air pollution. However, using renewable energy and reducing gases from big companies might be the better way.