Some people believe that children should be banned from using their phones during the school day. Others believe that children should be allowed to use their phones. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

It is a commonly held belief that using phones should be prevented in school. From my perspective, this idea is completely flawed owing to the benefits in terms of exploiting the function of smartphones in developing the learning and teaching process.

On the one hand, using phones too much in school might cause several disadvantages. Firstly, students using phones without any limits might affect academic performance badly. The phones of some students could have a lot of games instead of academic documents, which might hold a toxic allure for students. Notification of these games could draw their attention away from their class. Secondly, some students have little education from adults and might tend to use technological devices for immoral purposes. These devices could be used to spread fake or bad information about class, this might lead to internal separation, even internal divergences in other students and teachers.

However, every coin has two sides. The fact that smartphones are supportive of both learning and teaching is undeniable. Some schools do their best in the way they apply smartphones and technology in academic teaching. Smartphones might become online libraries that store huge amounts of major books and documents. Students could read everywhere. Students, in case of having struggles, while no teachers or parents are around, could go online for solutions from online tutors who help them via applications. School councils also hold online forums for easy knowledge networking on smartphones. Phones also make students independent from teachers since they are able to help themselves within a few minutes on the Internet. Furthermore, when pupils can not catch up in classes, they can go online to find documents and practice tests to improve themselves.

In conclusion, despite the existence of some opinions in favor of banning phones in schools, I do believe that if schools and parents give students correct instructions, the phones could provide effective supports to academic development.