Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary era, education is highly valued across the globe, as, from a survey, people who receive proper education are inclined to achieve wealth, happiness, and a stable career in the future. This has resulted in a significant increase in tuition fees, engendering concerns from the public. Hence, a school of thought has suggested that university education should be tuition-free for all students, regardless of their financial background. I partially subscribe to the statement.

On a surface-level argument, abolishing tuition could be viewed as beneficial for the masses. By applying the policy, colleges will be widely and more easily accessible, eliminating financial boundaries, with students becoming more likely to reach their full potential. This, in the long run, could potentially create a more intellectual workforce and could come with more innovations, as well as further technological developments, stabilizing a nation’s thriving economy. In general, the removal of tuition fees can be beneficial for the underprivileged, creating a more approachable and diverse education environment, additionally generating wealth and possibly revolutionary inventions.

Despite the aforementioned advantages, its possible adverse bearings cannot be denied. A crucial aspect of maintaining a school is money. Without tuition fees, the financial sustainability of universities cannot be ensured, causing cuts in wages, funding, and workforce. This lack of salary could be a big discouragement for teachers, especially in such a diverse education environment with a plethora of pupils, furthermore diminishing the quality of universities due to a lack of resources and employees.

In conclusion, the abolishment of tuition fees can result in negative consequences yet potential benefits; therefore, I partially agree with the statement.