Some people believe that giving longer prison sentences is the best way to reduce crime. Others believe that there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often believed that giving longer sentences for offenders in jail is the best method to reduce illegal activities. while some people contend that there are better alternatives to these notions. There are strong perspectives on both sides, on which we shall elaborate more below.

On the one hand, the proponents of a longer prison sentence for offenders are that owing to there are many rules which are strict and they have to obey them. Thus, those who live in jail never do they gain individual freedom that cannot be enjoyed. This could raise deterrent effects toward prisoners in order to prevent crime again. Moreover, giving longer punishment in jail as well as provides positive chances for offenders to obtain rehabilitation. For example, the people who are drug abuse would need to spend a long time in prison for rehabilitation to help better their future.

On the other hand, the advocates of other pivotal methods to reducing criminal activities are adequate education and job opportunities. These could reduce crimes owing to the fact they give skills necessity in current situations. Therefore, they are able to fill their basic needs with them. Additionally, Joining social communities is suggested to build the positive traits such as having empathy and humanity.Hence, it prevents individuals from committing crimes.

By way of conclusion, regardless of the two strong viewpoints considered above. It seems to me that the best way to reduce criminals is adequate education and jobs due to the fact that it could bring more productivity for all individuals.