Some people believe that giving longer prison sentences is the best way to reduce crime. Others believe that there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It’s thought that the optimal method to minimise the crime statistics is to prolong prison stay. On the contrary, it’s believed that there are other strategies to cope with crime. Personally, extending prison stay would only cause hatred among prisoners. Another humane methods should be implemented like reading books to cut prison sentences and allocating them to do community chores

On the one hand, there has been conception that by increasing prison time, the potential criminals would be demotivated to commit crime. Criminals would think twice before doing any wrong so not to be arrested. The prison is not “home a sweet home”. A lot of prisoners complain that harsh treatment in this facility. Therefore, it’s firmly believed that this method is rather realistic approach to combat with crime.

On the other hand, extra punishment for inmates would motivate them to commit even more crimes in the future. They would consider themselves as more evil, even the society wouldn’t accept them. Instead, they ought to be given the chances like books reading as well as making them volunteer for the public for certain period of time. The first method method has already been applied by a South American country with success. The latter method is effective as the prisoners would feel that they are part of the community and they would be better integrated after their release.

In summary, some people believe that adding prison stay time is the best way to for crime reduction. I reaffirm that this will only fuel the inmates loathing. Rather, light approaches mentioned above should be considered executing.