Some people think that environmental problems should be solved on a global scale, while others believe it is better to deal with them at a national level. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate over who should be responsible for protecting the environment, with some people thinking it is the government’s job and others arguing that individuals should also contribute to mitigate ecological problems. In my opinion, although government intervention can do a lot to protect nature, such problems could not only be solved by the authorities.

On the one hand, some claim that the contribution of the government to mitigating ecological degradation is greater than humans. For example, if authorities introduce strict regulations on public waste, people are more likely to obey them in order to avoid being fined. This is because people will have a valid reason on why they should not leave rubbish on land. Moreover, provided that the governments subsidize affordable public transport systems, it becomes easier for individuals to reduce their carbon footprint and may lead to having less private cars, thereby mitigating air contamination. Hence, such laws could accelerate environmental protection.

On the other hand, government intervention works mostly in public and overcrowded places because teenagers and adults are usually reluctant to adopt environmentally-friendly choices as they are time-consuming and not always easy. On average, areas that are clean and tidy are those that are under government supervision and other regions tend to be run-down and full of rubbish. People usually have that behavioral instinct that they do not succeed in certain pursuits until they really want to, so they do the same in protecting nature. Therefore, people should set themselves an example and realize the importance of having a clean and breathtaking nature without any problems. As a result, we can contribute to environmental protection by engaging in certain organizations and donations, thereby mitigating environmental problems.

In conclusion, although government intervention has the potential to impose on laws that can reduce air pollution and other issues, the authorities cannot alone hinder ecological degradation fully.