Some people believe that governments should censor harmful content on the internet, while others argue that this would restrict freedom of expression. Discuss both views and give your own opinion."

The internet plays a vital role in modern society by providing a vast amount of online information that is easily accessible. However, its rapid developments has also given rise to negative content. Some believe that the government should censor websites, while others argue that this would restrict freedom of expression. Although I support the government to make regulations about creating ethical content, I strongly disagree with giving the authorities excessive controls.

The internet frequently contains violent content, pornography, and online scams, all of that can negatively affect viewers, especially children and teenagers. By blocking such content, government can effectively prevent their citizen from accessing harmful contents. Nevertheless, excessive censorship can create more problems than solutions, as it may limit some individuals ability to express their opinion. In Indonesia a few days ago, for instance, the government disabled TikTok live during demonstrations in several cities in Indonesia, which was seen as an attempt to silence political voice.

Instead of utilize full control, the government should collaborate with technology companies to regulate platforms more responsibly. Regulations based on such collaboration are necessary in order to ensure people to access information without being exposed to dangerous content. For example, the government could work with social media companies by monitoring harmful posts and removing them before they spread widely.

In conclusion, while it is essential to regulate harmful content on the internet, by giving governments full control over online information would be dangerous. A balanced approach, where authorities work alongside technology companies, is the most effective way to ensure internet safety without interfering on personal freedom.