Some people believe that harsher punishments reduce crime. Others argue that education and social reform are more effective solutions. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The increasing rate of crime in today’s world is raising the need of strict laws and punishment. Some people think that these stricter and cruel punishments are best way to reduce crime whereas others believe that education is more effective. The subsequent paragraphs will discuss these both views before stating my opinion.

To commence with the implication of stricter punishments results in significant decrease in crime rate because it has instant impact on the people by setting an example for the consequences for criminals. Moreover, the harsh punishment serves justice to the victims and their families as the culprit gets serious punishment. The hard punishments like life imprisonment and death sentence results in decrease in number of criminals in the country by taking them away from the society.

On the other hand, education is very important to bring a change in society. It helps in long-term decline in criminals by educating people about effects on families and individuals. For instance, movies and books on life of criminals can help to understand the devastating effects on their lives. Furthermore, the education helps in better understanding of law and order in people by creating more awareness and they will be more responsible. The educational awareness campaigns creates the ethical and moral thinking in youth which helps in keeping the next generation away from crime. In addition, the proper education in rehabilitation centers can help people who are mentally or emotionally unstable by providing treatments.

In my opinion, the harsh punishments are necessary for serious criminals to serve justice, however, the criminals with small crimes can be given proper education which will provide them opportunity to change. This balanced approach by government will work best for the improvement of society and overall reduction in crime rate.

To conclude, the cruel punishments can be a good way to control crime rate instantly and create a fear among citizens, whereas the education works best for long-term reduction in crime by creating sense of responsibility and awareness among the residents.