Some people believe that harsher punishments reduce crime. Others argue that education and social reform are more effective solutions. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There is a controversy about whether schooling is the most effective method to mitigate crime rates or harsher governmental punishment is imposed to reduce crime. This essay will critically examine both standpoints prior to articulating a reasoned personal perspective.

To begin with, some individuals contend that education is the best way to alleviate crime rate. Numerous crimes occur because some people have not got proper knowledge and this factor is the main contributor to committing a crime. When the offenders commit a minor crime, it can be feasible to reform that person with the help of education. For instance, if committers get appropriate studies, they are not tend to engage in illegal activities. Consequently, raising learning among people can be diminished crime.

On the other hand, some people concur that imposing severe penalties are the most compelling method to minimize crime rates. Nowadays, criminals, especially juvenile delinquents are more likely to commit major crime like killing the people. Provided that the perpetrators commit considerable crimes, education may not be effective way to lessen illegal acts. For example, governments should implement stricter punishment for those who execute substantial offences to decrease law violations. Thus, enforcing criminal policies are also the most cogent method.

To sum up, although offences can be reduced by raising educational levels among individuals, however, I firmly assert that enacting harsher laws may decrease significantly crime.