Some people believe that reading stories a from book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

This is an ongoing debate over whether acquiring stories from books can contribute to improved understanding than reading from TV or computer games. Some people argue that learning stories from books takes immediate effects, I partially disagree with this view, because I believe that games and TV programs can improve children’s understanding for these stories.

On the one hand, visual inputs, such as educational games and television programs, can be new stimuli to attract children to participate in reading, thus improving children’s proactiveness. Nowadays, a growing number of online education materials are designed to help children devote into reading. Compared with original reading from paper books, children are more likely to acquire stories in this interactive way. Over time, this approach ultimately helps children cultivate the reading habit, which boosts their productivity and efficiency on reading stories. Consequently, benefits associated with visualization contribute to forming children’s own knowledge base.

On the other hand, Some people contend that children can make huge progress in the ability of imagination through paper books. To some certain extent, stories characterized by words may enhance the ability that transforms words into images, just as saying that there are as many Hamlets as there are readers. However, this perspective overlooks a fact that nothing better than TV programs or video games can provide the visualization. Furthermore, video games offer children multiple dimensions of stories, children can readily operate so-called “virtual model”, which is unattainable for paper books.

In conclusion, Although stereotypes associated with computer games or TV shows genuinely bring negative reputation to the visualizing method, the benefits, including improving their productivity and visualization on reading, cannot be overlooked. Consequently, I still agree that watching television or playing computer games can be beneficial to children.