Some people believe that research into family history is useful for the next generations, while others claim that present and future are more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People around the world have a tendency to carry out research on their ancestors to know their identity clearly. While some believe that doing such research is worthwhile, others argue that it would be better to concentrate on living relatives and descendants. Although both views have their own merits, I am of the view that learning about family history should be given more priority.

It is true that attempting to learn deeply about living relatives and future proves useful. This is because when individuals are dedicated to strengthen their family relationships, they are more likely to build a close-knit society. This, in turn, leads them to make frequent visits, care more about each other and more importantly, they end up leading a happier lifestyle because of strong, long-lasting connections. Moreover, this approach could also be handy and useful when they encounter obstacles in life, since all relatives are willing to lend a helping hand to one another. All of these actions are indeed the result of stronger bonds and trust.

It is also undeniable that learning about one’s family history brings a lot of benefits. First and foremost, people who are curious about their previous generations can gather valuable information that can be of great significance for their identities. While indulging themselves in learning about their family tree, they would not only be able to find out about how their lives have been shaped, but they could also experience a sense of pride and self-esteem as long as their ancestors managed to contribute to society with remarkable achievements. As a result, these individuals aim to follow in their ancestors’ footsteps by accomplishing fundamental things such as dealing with local problems, if not international ones to demonstrate their contribution. Therefore, I believe, sacrificed time and effort to know about one’s ancestors in depth should be valued and followed by many.

In conclusion, although paying a closer attention to the development of both present and future generation deems important, I strongly support the view that the history of ancestors should be compulsory, as they provide people with a great deal of confidence and pride.