Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

It could be argued by some that academic assignments should be eliminated for

young students. In my opinion, however, homework significantly affects the way we teach children.

On the one hand, there are a number of reasons why some believe that teachers should not assign their students. The first reason is that children do not have time to play. After school, children might be engaged in some extracurricular activities to develop their social interactions. Therefore, with a large amount of homework, children must stay on their study desk all day to complete as they might lose their meaningful childhoods and also suffer from many mental health issues. Another reason is that there is no time for students to concentrate on their favourite subject. Some children have their own talent for some particular aspect, such as painting, playing musical instruments, or mathematics. They receive a lot of assignments in all subjects at school as they must separate their time for them, which means that they might not be able to learn about what they are really into.

On the other hand, I would argue that children need to have their homework. The first reason is that it can help them put what they learned into practical situations. Without practising, students might forget the theories earlier as well as not have the skills to solve problems, which play an important role in their future lives and jobs. Doing homework can help the children recall and memorise what they learn, so it could make a long-term memory. Additionally, assignments can help the youth focus on their studies and not be distracted by some bad work. For instance, with a number of deadlines, students can learn about time management skills and how to prioritise tasks to fulfil their assignments. Furthermore, when students are conscious of the solution to any homework, they can ask their teachers or their friends that could develop relationships and networking in an academic environment.

In conclusion, although some people think that homework is not necessary for young students, I personally believe that it could bring a lot of advantages to the education of the youth.