Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Assigning homework is strongly opposed by a segment of citizens. Nevertheless, others claim that these assignments and kids’ education are inseparable, as it helps pupils to consolidate their knowledge. In this essay, I firmly gravitate towards the latter view. Before explaining my perspective, I will clarify both previous statements.

On the one hand, homework may hinder young learners’ academic improvement. Despite the original purpose of enhancing students’ understanding, an excessive amount of homework can overwhelm them. This may lead to resistance, for some children take advantage of websites to complete assigned tasks. As a matter of fact, the widespread availability of answers on the internet has become increasingly popular among children, encouraging them to rely on external resources rather than developing critical thinking skills. As a result, homework proves to be an inefficient educational strategy for young learners.

On the other hand, I align with those who argue that homework plays a pivotal role in kids’ education, as it reinforces knowledge retention. When students complete assignments, they are repeatedly exposed to different types of exercises, which not only strengthens children’s knowledge of previous lessons but also sharpens their critical thinking skills. Without homework, students may struggle with tests or examinations. In fact, young learners benefit most from their mistakes via given tasks. If there existed no exercises to practice, they might find it hard to master knowledge. This elucidates the essential role of homework in students’ academic performance.

To encapsulate, although homework is an essential part of children’s education for knowledge retention, it should be applied in a reasonable number of tasks to avoid a defiant attitude amongst young pupils.