Some people believe that schools should start later in the morning because children perform better when they get enough sleep. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, It is often argued that delaying school start times helps students achieve better academic results by ensuring adequate rest. However, I completely disagree with this view, as establishing a proper sleep schedule is sufficient for maintaining students’ performance without altering school hours.

On the one hand, early-morning hours are naturally the most productive time for learning especially for children. Children’s circadian rhythm allow them to experience high mental alertness early in the day. When students attend early classes, their brains are ready to receive information more easily before mental fatigue in the afternoon. For instance, materials requiring high concentration, such as mathematics or physics, these are typically schedule in the morning. This proves that early morning shows students give the best school performance. Therefore, changing school start time to later in the day would waste peak learning hours.

In addition, developing healthy sleep habits is more effective solution instead of delaying timetables. This is because the main issue of tiredness children is often not enough sleep rather than early school schedule. Students can get enough sleep 7 – 8 hours and they wake up may feel mentally refreshed without starting later in the school. For example, when I was in primary school my father usually ask me to sleep early because we are Muslim, that is why we must dawn prayer at 4:30 a.m.. but still I had an adequate rest. That proves that enough sleep depends on students sleep schedule at home, not operational hours at school. As a result, shifting the school schedule is unnecessary and fails to address the real root of the problem.

In conclusion, early-morning hours are naturally the most productive time for learning something needed to study difficult materials. Besides that, developing healthy sleep habits is more effective solution instead of delaying timetables. I believe this is the best ways to maximize brain function, especially for children.