Some people believe that social media has a negative impact on society, while others think it has brought people closer together. Do you agree or disagree?

Certain individuals claim that social media affects society negatively, whereas others hold an opinion that it has assumed bringing people closer. Although social media has a variety of negative aspects, I believe that it can promote strong relationships.

There are several arguments against the use of social media. Some critics argue that it leads to isolation and mental health issues. For instance, studies have shown that by spending a lot of time on social media, such as Instagram or Facebook people can experience a lack of fulfillment as they compare themselves with other individuals. Additionally, people spend too much time scrolling social media which can cause them to lose communication skills.

On the other hand, social media can impact positively in terms of strengthening relationships. People can overcome geographical barriers, thus strengthening relationships via social media. For example, a friend of mine is studying in India, and we keep in touch due to social media, becoming closer over the years despite the fact that distance keeps us apart. Furthermore, social media can provide platforms for people with same interests and hobbies which can be beneficial in finding new friends and overcome the feeling of loneliness․

In conclusion, while social media does have its drawbacks, such as its potential to negatively affect mental health and cause isolation, I believe its ability to facilitate communication and build relationships is undeniable. If used mindfully, social media can serve as a tool for strong and lasting connections in society.