Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing views and give your own opinion. You should give reasons for your answer, and include ideas and examples from your own knowledge and experience.

The debate over the introduction of sport as a subject in the school curriculum is still long-lasting. This essay will elaborate on both views, and I believe that the following ideas will support my own opinion.

On the one hand, it is believed that sport should be optional for individuals because of the following reasons. To begin with, the time distributed for sport can distract students from studies. Typically, some children spend much time playing sports rather than focusing on revising lessons. Secondly, playing sports can be an obstacle to individuals with weak physical conditions, or those that take no interest in. Finally, getting engaged in sports activities can cause them to become more aggressive. For example, a crash with footballers in a match triggers unexpected fights.

On the other hand, incorporating sport into the education of students remarkably contributes to the development of individuals. Getting involved in sports helps foster physical health in terms of keeping fit and improving the immune system. In addition, students can acquire social skills, such as teamwork or problem solving, through sports competition. For example, challenging sports, including football and hockey, require high cooperation to achieve wins.What is more, it can not be denied that playing sports is a way for students to get relaxed after stressful classes.

In conclusion, Sports itself provides significant benefits for mental and physical development of students, which I believe outweigh the negatives that it brings. Therefore, sports should be compulsory in educating schoolers, but the assessment of this subject should also be based on students’ health status.