Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing views and give your own opinion

There is a contentious debate over whether sport can be a part of school curriculum. While some people believe in its necessity, others argue that it should be an extra option. This essay will examine both prespectives before presenting my clear viewpoint.

On the one hand, some people feel that sport uses up time which could be better spent on academic subjects such as exam preparation. In addition, it might be said that it is unwise to force children to do activities which they have no interest in. After all, some youngsters are just not sporty, and should be allowed to study instead.

On the other hand, one major benefit of sport is it helps children’s physical development at an important stage. If all their time was spent studying, they would become unfit and the minds would eventually suffer. Furthermore, many people feel that a competitive spirit, so important today, is fostered by sports as an early age. It is notable, for example, that many successful business people excelled in sport at school.

To conclude, I feel that sport should be compulsory for school children, because the positive effect on their mental and physical development outweights the negatives.