Some people believe that technology improves the quality of education, while others think it has a negative effect on students

The question of whether the use of disruptive technologies in education offers unparalleled opportunities for students sparks an ongoing debate. This essay will delve into the potential drawbacks and salient upsides in subsequent paragraphs, presenting my own viewpoint beforehand.

On the one hand, the use of cutting-edge devices in schools or universities has multifaceted benefits not only for students but also for educators. Therefore, it simplifies and accelerates the learning process. For instance, I can save all data such as files from associate professors or educational videos on my laptop. In addition, given the circumstances, teachers could use electronic boards, because they are convenient. Of equal importance is software. Word or PowerPoint with Google Sheets enable one to present ample topics better compared to paper. Beyond purely educational considerations, the use of technologies is environmentally friendly, as the paper is produced from wood, which invariably leads to deforestation.

On the other hand, proponents often express concerns about the devastating effect on students’ mental health. Firstly, the excessive use of phones or laptops causes a lack of socialization. Consequently, juveniles lose the social skill set which plays a prominent role in today’s world. Secondly, the electronic devices can disturb during the lessonbe disruptive during lessons at university. The next argument that comes to my mind is that AI should be forbidden in schools or other educational establishments. This largely stems from the rampant use of Chat GPT by students. The brain loses the ability to acquire new knowledge and therefore creative thinking. Rigorous and comprehensive education has to limit the use of AI. Moreover, another ripple effect includes sleep deprivation or anxiety disorders.

In conclusion, I reckon that the increasing use of technologies can optimize various topics for students, paving the way for sustained prosperity. However, I have to mention, that they should be used reasonably by virtue of self-thinking. A great example is the states in Scandinavia where phones are banned. Hence, on balance, the merits outweigh the demerits.