Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Punishments for a specific crime should be fixed, the statement is not agreed by everyone with some believing the need to factor in reasons for the crime such as motivation to decide on the sentences. This essay agrees with having a fixed punishment on specific crimes as it allows fairness in the judiciary system.

Treating individuals, the same allows the legal system to work coherently and smoothly. Sentences are passed out on the basis of the crime which ensures equality. I agree with the statement as having set consequences for crimes allows all criminals to be treated the same way with no power, rank or connections helping an individual out. For example, Drunk Driving has a set rule of 30 days of Community Service. No individual is able to bypass this rule as the crime punishment has been decided and cannot be altered.

There is another group of people who believe that punishments on crime should factor in the principle reasons behind the crime. The general argument being that motivation of an individual could warrant a different sentence. If such laws are followed the system becomes corrupt as the power goes away from the rule but to the ruler i.e. the judge in this case. The judge can warrant different outcomes which decreases the overall fairness and authority of the law as it will be followed some time and won’t be the other. For example, a shoplifter stealing food to feed his family should not be treated differently to a shoplifter stealing food for himself as the crime in question is the same.

To conclude, Punishments for Criminals being black and white allow fair and equal treatment for everyone irrespective of status or race. Arguments of people in favour for individual punishments on crimes become weak as individual punishments allow matters into the hand of a judge which decreases the overall process of handing out punishments.