Some people believe that unpaid community service should be compulsory in high school programmes (for example, working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many high school programmes include unpaid community services such as working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood etc. which is a good initiative. However, some people think it should be compulsory so in this essay I am going to talk about whether I agree or disagree with this.

In my opinion, I think unpaid community services in high school programs effectively improve students’ abilities in various ways. These help a student to become good at his communication and interpersonal skills as well as his leadership skills. For example, when a high school student starts working for a charity or teaching games to younger children his communication and leadership skills will increase noticeably during his activity in providing the community services. Another example is that a student can receive real-life experiences along with his high school degree which will greatly support him in his future career only if community service is compulsory in school programmes.

On the other hand, giving community services along with high school studies may significantly affect a student due to many pitfalls. When a student is involved with providing community services he needs to interact with communities which can distract him from his main high school studies. One example is that improvement of the neighbourhood is being done by students through various activities thus affecting the student’s focus, attention and consistency with their studies.

To conclude, I would like to agree that unpaid or voluntary community services should be a compulsory part of high school programmes despite having some negative consequences. However, in my opinion, voluntary community services in high schools can noticeably grow a student’s ability in many areas.