Some people believe that unpaid community service should be compulsory in high school programmes (for example, working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). Do you agree or disagree?

It is a popular opinion among many that high schools should incorporate unpaid community service in its curriculum as compulsory. I totally agree with this opinion. This essay suggests that unpaid services to our community enriches us being a responsible citizen to our community and it also helps highschool students with their university applications where these volunteer experiences are given a preferrence.

To begin, volunteer work for our community helps us in understanding how one individual can make a positive impact for all. If a student is involved in doing community work, such as fundraising for different societal problems or doing something so as to improve the surroundings, greatly benefits that person as a responsible citizen with a good and compassionate heart. For instance, a study by University of Illionis, reported that students who were involved in community work appeared to have been more vigilant in doing something for thir community as comapred to others who were not involved.

Futhermore, a highschool student can also benefit from this with regards to their university admissions. While applying for it, students can incorporate their volunteer experience in their statement of purpose, which greatly impacts their acceptance rate at a university as they prioritize students who have done some kind of volunteer work. For instance, universities like Oxford, Cambridge and others, prefer to admit students who have done any kind of volunteer experience for the community and how it may have impacted them or the community. This is considered a plus point.

To conclude, making it compulsory will not only benefit the community but it will also impact the horizon of the students and also benefit them further in the future be it academically or for their personal growth.