Some people believe that unpaid community service should be compulsory in high school programmes (for example, working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). Do you agree or disagree?

There is a widespread belief that it is essential to force high school students to do unpaid community service. Personally, I do not totally agree with that popular opinion. I believe that people should do things from the bottom of their hearts.

Firstly, having a compulsion on students to do some social services is their own personal evolution. Student can improve and develop their communication skills, teamwork and sovle the problems. Moeover, not every students is inclined to help people voluntarily and forcing them to do free community service is a good way to support and teach them to be helpful and thoughtful from youth. As a result, some students may recognize the meaningful activities they are doing and find a greater purpose in life.

Nevertheless, unpaid community service can lead student to face both personal and academic challenges. To begin with student can not balance between studying and relationships, the reason is that they spend more time in doing social activities and spend less time for people around them. Therefore, it is lead to the fact that student can not control their timetable and make a good income in their life. Futhermore, forcing them to engage in community service without payment could result in disengagement and a lack of enthusiasm. For that reason, society will be suffered a resentment and hatred from student who unwilling to do a activity without payment.

In conclusion, each individual and whole society can only flourish when things are done on a voluntary basis.