Some people believe that violence on television and in computer games has a damaging effect on the society. Others deny that these factors have any significant influence on people's behavior. What is your opinion?

Numerous individuals consider the violence shown in TV series and computer games is harmful for society. While others think they don’t have a significant effect on people’s behaviour. In my opinion, TV shows and video games don’t negatively affect individuals.

For a long time, TV shows and computer games were the scapegoat. The media ignored the main reasons and blamed these activities as the main source of the violent behaviours of individuals. However, as the time passed and these activities became more accessible, it is understood that they didn’t have a considerable impact. In my opinion, activities such as watching TV shows and playing games are no more than just a tool for people to relieve stress. Therefore, they don’t have a significant influence on violence.

Moreover, these activities have a calming effect on people, which repels possible acts of violence. Individuals always get angry because of the negative events that occur in their lives. This anger needs to be relieved one way or another. Otherwise, it gets accumulated and might affect the person’s both physical and mental health. As a result, deterioration of mental health might encourage violent activities.

In conclusion, violent acts have many reasons but watching TV series and playing video games are not a significant contributor to this behaviour.