Some people believe the purpose of education is to prepare individuals to be beneficial to society. Others say the purpose of education is to achieve personal ambitions. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

One school of thought holds that the purpose of education is directly related to the readiness of the workforce in society, while others believe its purpose is to promote the pursuit of individuals’ ambitions. This essay will examine both viewpoints before concluding that I lean towards the former.

Granted, there are various compelling grounds for the concentration of education on achieving personal goals involving motivation in learning and satisfaction in working. Foremost among these is that when students develop a detailed plan for following, they potentially can have a stronger sense of direction and purpose in their studies. This may lead to better scholastic attainment and more productivity in studies, facilitating the efficient assimilation of academic knowledge and necessary skills for their future career. Beyond the academic performance, oriented students tend to derive more satisfaction from their jobs. Therefore, the dedication and commitment in businesses are more powerful and robust and mitigate the problems such as excessive working hours or job changes, thereby contributing to long-term career success and stable income.

Notwithstanding the merits of pursuing personal dreams solely offering personal advantages, the demands for serving the community are more paramount and practical. One justification for this perspective lies in the necessity of a skilled workforce for national development. The improvement of society heavily relies on expertise in primary fields such as healthcare, engineering, and education in order to operate smoothly. For instance, doctors ensure the protection of community well-being, engineers handle the erection of infrastructure, and teachers play a pivotal role in shaping the next generation. Unless learners are trained in these realms, the economic and living standards will be stagnant. Furthermore, pupils generally have received numerous benefits from what society provides, including greater public schooling, valuable scholarships, and modern libraries. With these good conditions, it is understandable that individuals have to take responsibility for serving communities in return, fostering the supportive and equitable society.

In conclusion, while the role of education in facilitating occupational fulfillment and personal ambition is undeniable, I firmly believe its mission lies in bolstering workforce readiness. By prioritizing the cultivation of technical proficiency in certain vital sectors, academic institutions not only ensure financial stability but also complete an obligation to remain a sustainable community.