Some people claim that it is justifiable to use animals in medical research for the benefit of human beings, while others argue that it is unethical. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some individuals consider animal studies legitimate because of mankind’s advantages. Others think it is immoral to use creatures in clinical trials. I strongly believe that the use of animals in experiments is mistaken.

On the one hand, vivisection is crucial in discovering treatments and cures that save human lives. Firstly, it helps confirm the safety and effectiveness of drugs before they are administered to people because of their biological similarity to humans in many ways. For instance, studying how diseases impact animals has been crucial for vaccine development, with observations of illnesses like polio, measles, and rabies in animals. Secondly, some animals are specifically bred for medical research, leading many to view their use as a necessary sacrifice for scientific progress such as white mice.

On the other hand, it is intelligible that scientists use animals for testing purposes is inhumane; in many cases, those species may suffer abuse, injuries, or abandonment once the experiments are concluded. Furthermore, many individuals believe that animals have the right to live and deserve to be treated with the same respect as human beings. Additionally, animal testing does not consistently provide accurate results when applied to humans although they are akin to human beings in many ways. For example, numerous vaccines and drugs have demonstrated success in animal testing but ultimately failed during human trials. Plus, those vivisections are often extremely costly which require funding to provide animals with food, shelter, proper care, and the administration of drugs or other experimental substances throughout the research process.

To sum up, it is inevitable that animal experiments have supported scientists in medical development. However, I am convinced that the benefits for human beings do not outweigh the suffering of animals.