Some people claim that it is justifiable to use animals in medical research for the benefit of human beings, while others argue that it is unethical. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Animal testing has always been a controversial issue because it requires animal sacrifice and imposes on them enduring pain. Although some agree with this approach to make medical advancements and prioritize scientific research, others believe that exploiting animals is an inhuman treatment and against moral rights. I believe that the survival of the human population from terminal diseases outweighs the welfare of the animals. However, ethical guidelines should be set to minimize the amount of suffering animals endure during experiments.

On the one hand, animal testing plays a crucial role in pharmaceutical research. They need a model to symbolize the diseases in their bodies; this way, they would be able to diagnose the side effects of chemical drugs on animal organisms and observe any other potential reactions.. For instance, Polio used to have a wide range of victims, but fortunately, with the help of animal testing on chimpanzees, scientists were able to attain to polio vaccine and defeat this tremendous disease. Therefore, animal testing is a pivotal part of medical advancement.

On the other hand, Animals’ advocators believe that exploiting animals for human desires is unethical, and they should have the right to live free from human desires. These crucial experiments cause animals pain and stress because scientists do not use anesthetics or painkillers during their operations to record all the results as precisely as possible. This group also insists on taking up alternative methods such as computer modeling and in vitro tests, which have their opponents, as they are not as reliable as animal testing in some cases. These methods are not acceptable in many countries ,as they impose animal testing to ensure the safety of drugs and chemicals.

In conclusion, although animal testing raises ethical concerns, it is the most vital part of scientific research. Human survival, keeping them safe from terminal diseases, is subject to these tests. Coming a long way in medical science is owed to this sacrifice and has been able to give a second birth to many humans and even animals, therefore, I believe that the achievements of this approach are invaluable. However, ethical concerns are undeniable, and some measures should be taken to mitigate animal suffering.