Some people say advertising has positive economic effects. Others think it hasnegative social effects because it will make people dissatisfied with who they are and what they have. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

While some hold the view that companies gain numerous economic benefits from advertising. I align with those who believe it creates several issues in society because it manipulates people’s decision making.

On this hand, advertising plays a vital role in free market economies. It helps companies promote their products and informs customers about the choices they have in order to increase profits and brand awareness. Apple, for instance, places their advertisements on television, social media and public transport to reach potential customers. In addition, once companies succeed, they expand and even cooperate with other relevant industries in favour of providing more job opportunities for local residents. Consequently, advertising not only allows companies to increase their income, but also drives countries’ economic development.

On the other hand, these advertisements have some negative impacts on society, especially on children. It is because nowadays, they can easily access advertisements through their smartphones, and companies keep producing new products, which in turn persuades young people to follow the latest trends. Most fashion brands, for example, hire skinny models to represent their products, which makes the younger believe that being skinny and fit is the only way to define a perfect body shape. As a result, they will not be satisfied with what they have now and will feel less confident in themselves when they receive forged information.

In conclusion, although advertising can enhance the economy, I still believe it has far more disadvantages for society since some false information can endanger the physical and mental health of the younger generation.