Some people say advertising has positive economic effects. Others think it hasnegative social effects because it will make people dissatisfied with who they are and what they have. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

While some people hold the view that advertising is beneficial to commercial companies, others believe it brings drawbacks to viewers. Personally, I think that advertising has both positive and negative effects and I will give relevant ideas about these issues.

On the one hand, there are various positive impacts of advertisements, especially on the economy. Firstly, advertising is the most effective marketing method for enterprises. This is because advertisements which contain vivid images and short contexts are more approachable to buyers. Through commercials, first-time consumers are fully informed with products’ information before making a buying decision. Furthermore, it also helps businesses promote and popularize their newly launched products, building customer awareness of companies. As a result, advertisements allow enterprises to maximize their profits which may contribute to the national budget through paying taxes.

On the other hand, advertising has a negative influence on audiences’ mentality. People often buy products not because of real needs, but due to manipulation that advertising brings. A prime example for this issue is a cosmetic brand called Mac, they usually use images of popular celebrities who have perfect face ratios and light toned skins to form the standard of beauty. These impacts have a detrimental effect on watchers, making them disappointed about themselves and what they own. Therefore, customers have a tendency to buy the latest items and believe that only these products can make their lives better. If they can not keep up with current consumerism culture, buyers think they will not be able to match the beauty standards set by the advertisements.

In conclusion, it is true that advertising could benefit enterprises with their fame and income, however, customers are likely to be bombarded with commercials featuring its own beauty standard. In my opinion, I believe that there are more disadvantages than positive effects regarding advertisements.