Some people say advertising has positive economic effects. Others think it hasnegative social effects because it will make people dissatisfied with who they are and what they have. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

On this digital age, with the development in consumer behavior, advertisement is a key thing for businesses to have comprehensive insights into their buyers. While I can understand the merit of this advancement can negatively affect purchasing habits, I advocate that advertising plays a crucial role in stimulating economic activities.

Proponents of the significance of advertising argue that it can foster economic effects in positive ways. This means that enterprises can leverage advertising to promote sales for showing off the products’ unique and their features. Therefore, companies can reach wide audiences, who have different demographic, psychographic, and behavioral intentions, thus increasing the brand awareness and loyalty of the products. Besides, the development of this field can open more job opportunities for all walks of life, from copywriters, and content creators to marketing executives. This also positively impacts income with various chances to earn more money and enhance living standards.

However, opponents may criticize the negative influences of advertisements with two major justifications. Firstly, it maintains consumerism at the expense of personal fulfillment. This emphasizes the display of personal wealth as our other meaningful pursuit. Secondly, some advertisements often exaggerate mediocre products to create artificial perception. It can be clearly seen in some advertising videos or live streaming on TikTok, that sellers usually introduce the effectiveness of the products with lower prices than other platforms to manipulate consumers that if they miss this discounted price, they will regret it. As a result, consumers are ready to take these opportunities although they do not need those merchandise.

In conclusion, while I recognize the drawbacks of advertisement for buyers, I am ultimately more persuaded by the perspective that it comes up with more benefits to increase the consumers’ living standards by creating more career opportunities and enhancing the profit for the brand thanks to such different advertising campaigns.