Some people say advertising has positive economic effects. Others think it hasnegative social effects because it will make people dissatisfied with who they are and what they have. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

While some people believe that advertisement stimulates economic growth, others argue that commercials negatively affect society by making people unsatisfied with their current conditions. Personally speaking, I say that under certain circumstances, advertising can positively contribute to society.

There are two main reasons why advertising promotes the growth in the economy. Firstly, the advertisement makes the product visible to customers. By watching the video or picture illustrating the product, people can decide whether to buy it or not. It is very convenient for people, instead of circling the shopping mall and trying to find their desired goods. Secondly, Advertising creates competition. Companies, therefore, have the motivation to innovate and adjust their products to cater to customers’ needs. From the perspective of buyers, they would be amazed, and the various commercials would arouse their interest in purchasing, which would in turn stimulate the economy.

However, the proponents of the idea that commercials disrupt people’s lives may argue that the advertising sometimes exaggerates their use, and this can mislead customers to buy things that they don’t need. Also, the company may invite celebrities to perform in its commercials. Customers, therefore, may have a sense of feeling that they must spend money to have the same thing that their favorite actor uses. Moreover, the company may create a trend on social media using their product. Anyone who does not have it would be behind the fashion.

In my opinion, the advertisement can create a connection between the sellers and buyers, which can stimulate the desire to spend money and therefore economic growth. However, the commercials need to tell the truth so that the customers can have a reliable reference when they are shopping.

In conclusion, advertising is good for the economy and as long as there are some regulations imposed on the commercials, the negative effects on people’s lives can be minimized.