Some people say that a lot of scientific research done today is a waste of time and money. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that the act of conducting research projects is a waste of resource. From my perspective, I go against such a view and will discuss in detail in the following essay.

Firstly, the contribution of previous scientific research to the modern world cannot be ignored. Past generations have witnessed various world-changing findings and innovations based on the mind and effort of extinguished scientists. As an illustration, Albert Einstein, who was one of the greatest mind of all-time, had conducted countless trials and errors in order to create a scientific breakthrough. Consequently, the knowledge of these geniuses is being passed on future generations through lectures, papers and applications. It cannot be denied that the majority of studies end up as failures, however without those errors, the researchers will not be able to find the correct approach for their research.

Secondly, although breakthroughs have been made, there are still a lot of space to conduct researches. For instance, only a few parts of the Earth’s oceans have been discovered and the majority of them are still in the dark. Additionally, new black-swan events tend to arise, such as the COVID-19 pandemic. Without the immediate actions from the medical researches to create an efficient vaccine, the society would have been heavily damaged. Therefore, not only does this research aim to assist individuals with more innovation, it also protects the well-being of humans.

To conclude, it is an undeniable fact that researching cost a considerable amount of resource, it is essential in today’s world and should not be ignored.