Some people say that government should pay money on large pieces of art, like sculptures for public display in outdoor places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, some people believe that governments should invest in large pieces of art. I partly disagree with this statement because public art can be beneficial for communities, but government should prioritize essential services when financial resources are limited.

One reason why governments should fund public art is that it can attract tourists. This is because investing in public art often leads to the creation of more attractive places, which may encourage tourists to visit these areas. For example, one of the main attractions in New York is the Statue of Liberty, which is very well-known around the world. This statue became the symbol of the city and has a positive effect on the local economy of the country by attracting a lot of tourists. As a result, by investing in art, governments can also provide economic benefits for local communities.

However, I believe that governments should prioritize current urgent problems because they have limited financial resources. In today’s world there are a lot of issues such as limited access to helthcare and education, climate change, transport and pollution, which could have a negative effect on the quality of resident’s lives. Moreover, funding for large pieces of art such as statues or sculptures can be very expensive to produce and install. However, governments can allocate money to both art and urgent issues. As a result, people will benefit from attractive places and also from problem reduction.

In conclusion, although public art can attract more tourists and influence the economy, I believe that governments should mostly pay attention to current problems and focusing on solving them.