Some people say that high school programmes should include compulsory unpaid community service (for example coaching sports to younger children, helping to improve the neighbourhood, or volunteering for a charity). To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some argue that programs in high schools should add mandatory community service without actual payment. I totally agree with this statement because this not only contributes to the betterment of the society but also provide experience to students, which can be very useful later in their future.

If the educational institutions include the volunteering work for high school students, this can be beneficial for community, as the children will be contributing for the betterment of the area. Teaching sports to younger children can help both of them to stay fit and grow their interest in sports field. Similarly, students cleaning their neighborhood by picking wrappers, can make the society clean and hygienic. For instance, a school in Nepal organized a cleaning campaign for their students to clean the Bagmati river and hence, gained a lot of positive response for their work.

Likewise, these types of community service experience can be very helpful to shape the high school students’ future. These experiences also make them a better version of themselves. They can even add these skills to their CV which can be beneficial applying for different jobs. In fact, many companies nowadays look for employees who has volunteered for different services. For example, around 40 people applied for a position in a company in India, but only people with community service participations were prioritized and eventually got the job.

Apart from this, doing some charity works, like donating clothes and other materials to orphanage and old age home, can help with students’ mental health. All these can make them a better human.

In conclusion, including compulsory unpaid community service in schools not only helps the society to be a better place to live in, but also it is beneficial for pupils to shape their future.