Some people say that history offers no practical benefit to society while others claim that history teaches us to understand the present. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals argue that history has little or no relevance in today’s modern world, while others believe that history is essential for some significant values and comprehending the present. I will discuss both perspectives in the following essay.

On the one hand, there are numerous reasons why history is irrelevant to present life. Firstly, the challenges and opportunities of the present are different from those of the past and historical knowledge are no longer available. For example, the advancement of technology nowadays has created an increasingly modernized world that the past and previous generations are unable to fully access. Consequently, learning from history could be potentially worthless because it has little relation to today’s technological and scientific developments. Furthermore, history is based on various perspectives from regions and countries, as it is difficult to find the truth among the unreliable resources, making it less valuable in meaning.

On the other hand, I believe that history can help people understand more of the current world, by providing the original advancements in technological and scientific progress. For instance, by studying and understanding about the past discovery of machines, people can easily know how complex devices and functions are built from this foundation. Another advantage is that history also helps young generation to navigate their countries’ roots, as historical knowledge explains the conflicts and wars between nations, or the evolution of cultures and identities.

In conclusion, although the values of history may not give useful information and meaning to present life, I believe that it still plays a crucial role in helping us understand and address the issues of today.