Some people say that in the modern world, getting old is entirely bad. Others, however, say that life for the elderly nowadays is much better than it was in the past. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is widely believed that the ageing process is considered one of the serious problems in the contemporary world. However, other people think the current world offers many opportunities for elderly people compared to the past. This essay will examine both sides of the debate before concluding with my own perspective.

On the one hand, there are several disadvantages of growing old, particularly in this globalised world. Being young has many beneficial sides in comparison with growing older. First and foremost, once an individual is old, this process creates a significant impact on their activeness and limits the motions of the body throughout the day. Second, a deficiency of energy is one of the most common dilemmas that roughly every elderly person faces. For example, approximately 60% of the Azerbaijani elderly population obtains a pension each month because they are accounted for as invalid individuals in terms of a lack of capabilities in the workplace. Furthermore, becoming older brings myriad unavoidable diseases. These particular illnesses accelerate hazardous medical disorders and are fatal.

On the other hand, elderly people have myriad opportunities rather than in the past. First, the advancement of modern technology has led to innovations and facilities that can readily aid elderly people. For instance, new facilities such as walking frames, beds with a few features, and monitoring devices have made it effortless for nurses and doctors to look after their patients. Another significant point is that the availability of new effective medicines and upgraded medical treatments has an undeniable influence on elderly people’s lives. In addition, there are many institutions, such as geriatric hospitals, nursing homes, and assisted living facilities, that are responsible for taking care of human beings who grow older.

In conclusion, ageing has both negative and positive effects. Despite the physical and social difficulties it may bring, developed technology has enhanced life for elderly people in many fields.