Some people say that it is better to learn a new skill in one-to-one lessons with a trainer. Others say that it is better to learn a new skill in a group. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that individualised lessons provide personalised attention and a focused learning environment, while others argue that group learning is a more beneficial way of attaining knowledge. This essay will examine both perspectives, accompanied by my opinion.

One-on-one lessons enable learners to work at an individualized pace. In the classroom, students either fall behind or get bored because they understand the lessons too easily. A tutor can observe their student’s progress and tailor lessons accordingly. This could result in a situation where a student who is gifted at math progresses well beyond their grade level. If they struggle in another subject, such as English, a Grade 5 student could effectively be studying Grade 4 English and Grade 8 math at the same time. This kind of pacing is only possible with one-on-one lessons.

On the other hand, group lessons open up opportunities for collaboration in and outside the classroom. Groups foster a classroom dynamic of debate. Students and teachers can exchange views and learn more from a plurality of perspectives. This is further exemplified in the project work that is commonplace in high schools and university classrooms in the United States. The rationale for assigning these projects is that students must improve their teamwork skills by getting along with classmates, taking on responsibility for given tasks, learning to compromise, and managing different temperaments. Many schools today assign roles within teams, such as team leader, presenter, primary researcher, and so on. These collaborative projects can then be brought into a group lesson and debated.

In conclusion, group lessons are a better way to learn. It is important that educators do not blindly follow the latest academic fads and instead carefully analyse the consequences before making drastic reforms to established educational practices