Some people say that living in a high-rise apartment block is a lonely experience because there is no community spirit. Others say that people who live in high-rise apartments have a much better sense of community than those living in houses. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this modern life, it is argued that living in luxurious flats reduces our connection with the society while others think living in these expensive apartments have better relationship with people. This essay will discuss both views before concluding that I am in favour of the former.

On the one hand, there are two main reasons why residents high-rise apartments may feel lonliness and struggle to connect with their neighbors. Firstly, you may feel a bit uncomfortable because you don’t know the people who live with. Secondly, living in the same space could possibly produce arguments, anger or more dangerously conflicts between each member in a high-rise due to different lifestyles and interests. For example, it’s so annoyed when a person likes quiet meet a neighbor likes singing, dancing with loud music.

Nevertheless, this is not always the case. In my city, most people live in high-rise apartments and they also know all their neighbors. The first reason is people in my city are very friendly and sociable. If they feel quite bored or need a confidant to turn to, they could easily find someone to talk to by knocking on their next-door neighbor. The next reason is the majority of these residential areas have built-in shopping centers, cafe and social clubs. These places will help people have a chance to meet others and make friends. There are also garden, swimming pool where they can go to relax. That’s why they can meet more people.

In conclusion, there are some disavantages when living in a high-rise flats like be a lonely experience. However, it depends on type of people who live there because there is an already spirit in both cases. For me, I still beleive that living in apartment can encourage good relationship with the community.