Some people say that parents should place restrictions on the time their children spend watching TV and playing games and encourage them to spend this time reading books. Do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly said that parents should put limitations on playing computer games and watching television for their children, engaging them to read more books. In this essay I agree with that notion and in my opinion, books are more beneficial for children than the electronic devices.

On the one hand, computers and television are essential components of any modern individual regardless of the age. TV programmes may contain irreplaceable contents of information as part of self education. For example, a program teaching a child Italian language can be incredibly valuable for a family that moved from the USA to Italy with a child who needs basic knowledge in Italian. As for computers, these pieces of technology are undoubtedly incredible tools to gain necessary information from the Internet. However, both devices can have negative effects on children, such as affecting on short-sightedness or becoming an addiction for him.

Meanwhile, books can lead to many positive changes in the child’s development. Firstly, reading develops imagination. Children subconsciously transform the textual information into imaginary reality, creating their own world full of facts and personalities. As a matter of fact, language knowledge is also enriched through reading. Because the books contain mainly literary texts, the grammatical skills and vocabulary are developed in a child’s brain. What is more, the positive literary heroes become role models for children, improving their moral and ethical values.

To sum up, it can be reiterated that although computer games and television can be useful tools for children, due to their negative effects on a child’s development in the case of over usage, they should be limited and replaced by reading.